Limit search to available items
More Information
Book Cover
Lang Matl

Title The O. Henry prize stories 2013 / chosen and with an introduction by Laura Furman ; with essays by jurors Lauren Groff, Edith Pearlman, Jim Shepard on the stories they admire most.

Publication Info. New York : Anchor Books, a division of Random House LLC, 2013.


Location Call No. Status
 CCQ - Lusail Female Library  PS648.S5 O23 2013    Available
Description xxxi, 475 pages ; 21 cm
text rdacontent
unmediated rdamedia
volume rdacarrier
Contents Your duck is my duck / Deborah Eisenberg -- Sugarcane / Derek Palacio -- The summer people / Kelly Link -- Leaving Maverley / Alice Munro -- White carnations / Polly Rosenwaike -- Sail / Tash Aw -- Anecdotes / Ann Beattie -- Lay my head / L. Annette Binder -- He knew / Donald Antrim -- The visitor / Asako Serizawa -- Where do you go? / Samar Farah Fitzgerald -- Aphrodisiac / Ruth Prawer Jhabvala -- Two opinions / Joan Silber -- They find the drowned / Melinda Moustakis -- The Mexican / George McCormick -- Tiger / Nalini Jones -- Pérou / Lily Tuck -- Sinkhole / Jamie Quatro -- The history of girls / Ayşe Papatya Bucak -- The particles / Andrea Barrett -- Reading the O. Henry Prize stories 2013 -- Writing the O. Henry Prize stories 2013.
Summary "The O. Henry Prize Stories 2013 gathers twenty of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines. The winning stories take place in such far-flung locales as a gorgeous sailboat in Hong Kong, a Cuban sugar plantation, the Kenai River in Alaska, a mansion in New Delhi, a ship torpedoed by a German U-boat, and the ghost-haunted rubble of a Turkish girls' school. Also included are the editor's introduction, essays from the jurors (Lauren Groff, Edith Pearlman, and Jim Shepard) on their favorite stories, observations from the winners on what inspired them, and an extensive resource list of magazines." -- Publisher's description.
Subject Short stories, American.
Short stories -- 21st century.
Added Author Furman, Laura, editor of compilation.
Eisenberg, Deborah, author.
Palacio, Derek, 1982- author.
Link, Kelly, author.
Munro, Alice, 1931- author.
Rosenwaike, Polly, author.
Aw, Tash, author.
Beattie, Ann, author.
Binder, L. Annette, 1967- author.
Antrim, Donald, author.
Serizawa, Asako, author.
Fitzgerald, Samar Farah, author.
Jhabvala, Ruth Prawer, 1927-2013, author.
Silber, Joan, author.
Moustakis, Melinda, 1982- author.
McCormick, George, 1973- author.
Jones, Nalini, 1971- author.
Tuck, Lily, 1938- author.
Quatro, Jamie, author.
Bucak, Ayşe Papatya, author.
Barrett, Andrea, author.
Groff, Lauren.
Pearlman, Edith, 1936-
Shepard, Jim.
ISBN 9780345803252